About Caritas University


Caritas University, Amorji-Nike, Enugu, is a private University approved by the Federal Government of Nigeria on December 16 2004. It was officially opened on January 21, 2005 by the Federal Minister for Education, Prof. Fabian Osuji. The formal opening was on January 31, 2005. The pioneer students of 250 matriculated on May 28, 2005 in a beutiful ceremony that attracted dignitries both church and state. It is the second Catholic University in Nigeria founded by Rev. Fr. Prof. Emmanuel Paul Mattew Edeh C.S.Sp, OFR. Although he founded the school, the proprietor

of the University is the Congregation of Sisters of Jesus the Saviour, a religious Congregation of Nuns founded by him.

Vision and Mission

The vision and mission of Caritas University is to rescue some of our wandering and teaming youths from further slide into academic and moral decay, and development and transformation of our society through sound and unadultrated education. Its mission is to discover, sanctify and apply the knowledge of science, environmental and engineering for human well-being and sound development of man for better society.

Our Goal

Our goal is to give efficacy to the University's motto and to its philosophy of education. We embrace not only sound education for professional skills and competency in various fields; but also maintain strict discipline. We train the mind, body, soul and spirit in the exercise of obedience and self control. The students must not only be intellectually and professionally prepared for different tasks and roles in the world, they must also be morally equipped to face the world itself with all its tensions,conflicts, challenges and contradictions. We achieve this with the help of God Almighty who is with us always.

Our Philosophy

The philosophy is to promote sound education for professional skills and competencies in various fields with strict dicipline. By dicipline the University meant the training of the mind, body and soul and spirit to obedience and self control. Also part of the philosophy is to prepare the students to be intellectually and professionally sound for different tasks and roles in the world with its tensions, conflicts, challenges and contraditions

Academic Programmes

The University operates faculty system. Presently, the University operates four faculties namely: Engineering, Enviromental Sciences, Management & Social Sciences and Natural Sciences